SDSU Football: Walter Kazee Named To Doak Walker Watch List

San Diego State University Football has another athlete added to an awards list, running back Walter Kazee. Walter Kazee was named to the 2012 Doak Walker Watch List. The Doak Walker Watch List consists of the best running backs in college football (FBS). The watch list includes the top 52 running backs in the (FBS).

Doak Walker Award

The following three paragraphs are from paragraphs are from ( This gives us some insite into the award and how it came to be.

Candidate plays predominantly at the running back position and has made extraordinary contributions to his team, is enrolled in a degree program, is in good academic standing and is on schedule to graduate, holds a record of good citizenship within and beyond the athletic sphere, demonstrated a record of leadership, exhibits the characteristics of sportsmanship and fair play associated with Doak Walker.

In October, each Division I-A college or university is given the additional opportunity to nominate a candidate or to nominate a replacement for a preseason candidate who may not have performed according to preseason expectations.

Throughout the season, statistical updates are compiled by the Forum office and released to the media and National Selection Committee, which includes sportswriters, television commentators, analysts, radio sports personalities and former All-America and NFL All-Pro football players.

2012 Doak Walker Award Watch List

#1) BYU Jr. Michael Alisa
#2) Wisconsin Sr. Montee Ball
#3) Oregon Sr. Kenjon Barner
#4) Michigan State Jr. Le′Veon Bell
#5) North Carolina Soph. Giovani Bernard
#6) Nebraska Sr. Rex Burkhead
#7) Washington Jr. Jesse Callier
#8) Middle Tennessee Sr. Benny Cunningham
#9) Tulane Jr. Orleans Darkwa
#10) Arkansas Jr. Knile Davis
#11) Clemson Sr. Andre Ellington
#12) UCLA Sr. Johnathan Franklin
# 13) Pittsburgh Sr. Ray Graham
# 14) Navy Sr. Gee Gee Greene 
# 15) Ohio State Sr. Jordan Hall 
# 16) Boise State Sr. D.J. Harper
# 17) Kansas State Jr. John Hubert 
# 18) Miami Sr. Michael James
# 19) TCU Jr. Waymon James
# 20) UTEP Soph. Nathan Jeffery 
# 21) San Diego State Sr. Walter Kazee
# 22) Alabama Jr. Eddie Lacy
# 23) South Carolina Jr. Marcus Lattimore
# 24) Louisiana Tech Soph. Hunter Lee 
# 25) SMU Sr. Zach Line
# 26) Army Jr. Raymond Maples 
# 27) Notre Dame Sr. Cierre Wood 
# 28) Arizona State Sr. Cameron Marshall
# 29) Auburn Sr. Onterio McCalebb
# 30) Connecticut Soph. Lyle McCombs
# 31) USC Sr. Curtis McNeal
# 32) Texas A&M Sr. Christine Michael
# 33) UCF Sr. Latavius Murray
# 34) Buffalo Jr. Branden Oliver
# 35) Oklahoma State Jr. Joseph Randle
# 36) Penn State Jr. Silas Redd
# 37) Florida International Jr. Kendrick Rhodes
# 38) Fresno State Sr. Robbie Rouse
# 39) Baylor Sr. Jarred Salubi
# 40) Bowling Green Soph. Anthon Samuel
# 41) Georgia Tech Sr. Orwin Smith
# 42) California Sr. Isi Sofele
# 43) Troy Sr. Shawn Southward
# 44) Vanderbilt Sr. Zac Stacy
# 45) Texas Tech Sr. Eric Stephens
# 46) Stanford Sr. Stepfan Taylor
# 47) Michigan Jr. Fitzgerald Toussaint
# 48) TCU Sr. Matthew Tucker
# 49) Iowa State Jr. James White
# 50) Wisconsin Jr. James White
# 51) Utah Sr. John White
# 52) Utah State Sr. Kerwynn Williams

The numbers on the list are not the actual rankings of the players listed. The names, grades, and universities were gathered from (

2012 Doak Walker Award – Schedule.

In mid-November, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors convenes to review the achievements of all candidates and votes to select ten semifinalists for the Award. The following day, the files of the semifinalists are forwarded to the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, who then votes to determine three finalists. The National Selection Committee will then cast a second vote to determine the winner.

(This schedule was compiled by (

Previous Doak Walker Trophy Award Winners

TRENT RICHARDSON (Cleveland), LAMICHAEL JAMES (San Francisco), TOBY GERHART (Minnesota), SHONN GREENE (NY Jets), DARREN MCFADDEN (Oakland), REGGIE BUSH (Miami), CEDRIC BENSON (Free Agent), CHRIS PERRY (Retired with Cincinnati), LARRY JOHNSON (Retired with Miami), LUKE STALEY (Retired with Detroit Practice Squad), LADAINIAN TOMLINSON (Retired with San Diego), RON DAYNE (Retired with Houston), RICKY WILLIAMS (Retired with Baltimore), BYRON HANSPARD (Retired with Atlanta), EDDIE GEORGE (Retired with Dallas), RASHAAN SALAAM (Retired in CFL), BAM MORRIS (Retired with Kansas), GARRISON HEARST (Retired with Denver), TREVOR COBB (Retired with Bears), and GREG LEWIS (Retired with Denver).

(The list of names was compiled by ( The names of current teams listed next to the players names was compiled by our CEO). 

About DavidSDSU (1250 Articles)
I graduated from San Diego State University with a degree in Journalism with an emphasis in Media Studies. I am also the Founder and CEO of San Diego Sports Domination. I am an award winning blogger and have been covering San Diego State Athletics and San Diego Sports for the past 10 years. I have written many guest articles and have appeared in many podcasts. I am also the team photographer for the San Diego Silverbacks, San Diego Surf (WPSL) and San Diego Strike Force. At my day job, I am a Live Coverage and Studio Coordinator at STN Digital a Digital Marketing Agency that works in the Sports & Entertainment Industry. We work with the biggest sports & entertainment companies in the world.
%d bloggers like this: