SDSU Football: Rocky Long MWC Coach of The Year.

Photo taken during post game celebration on TWCSN

San Diego State finished one of the best season’s on record with a record of 9-3 and 7-1 in conference play. The Aztecs came away with huge wins at Nevada and at Boise State. The Aztecs were favored to lose to both Nevada and Boise State. The San Diego State offense had some bumps in the road with the injury to starting quarterback Ryan Katz at the beginning of their game against Nevada. The backup quarterback Adam Dingwell stepped up and has competed to the best of his abilities. Dingwell has won seven straight games as the quarterback of San Diego State. The Aztecs offense were led by Adam Muema and Walter Kazee who helped break the SDSU rushing record with two games to go on the season.

SDSU Coach Rocky Long accepting the Mountain West Conference Championship trophy.

SDSU Coach Rocky Long accepting the Mountain West Conference Championship trophy.

The Aztecs defensive lost their best player last season in linebacker Miles Burris and have been one of the best defenses in school history. The Aztecs finished Mountain West Conference play as the number one rush defense in the conference. The Aztecs have done a great job of rebuilding the team and will be a huge threat come next season. Below are the final Mountain West Conference awards for the season. Congratulations to San Diego State Coach Rocky Long for being named Mountain West Conference Coach of the year.!!

Pos. Player Cl. School
QB Derek Carr# Jr. Fresno State
WR Davante Adams# Fr. Fresno State
WR Brandon Wimberly Grad. Nevada
RB Stefphon Jefferson Jr. Nevada
RB Robbie Rouse Sr. Fresno State
TE Gavin Escobar* Jr. San Diego State
OL Jeff Nady Sr. Nevada
OL Austin Wentworth Jr. Fresno State
OL Matt Paradis Jr. Boise State
OL Nick Carlson Sr. Wyoming
OL Nik Embernate Sr. San Diego State
PK Nolan Kohorst Jr. UNLV
PR/KR Mike Edwards Jr. Hawai`i
Pos. Player Cl. School
DL Mike Atkinson Sr. Boise State
DL Demarcus Lawrence So. Boise State
DL Tyeler Davidson So. Fresno State
DL Mike Purcell Sr. Wyoming
LB J.C. Percy Sr. Boise State
LB Albert Rosette Grad. Nevada
LB John Lotulelei Sr. UNLV
DB Jamar Taylor Sr. Boise State
DB Phillip Thomas# Sr. Fresno State
DB Derron Smith So. Fresno State
DB Leon McFadden** Sr. San Diego State
P Pete Kontodiakos Sr. Colorado State
*–Two-Time First-Team Selection
**–Three-Time First-Team Selection
#–Unanimous Selection
Pos. Player Cl. School
QB Cody Fajardo So. Nevada
WR Matt Miller So. Boise State
WR Chris McNeill Sr. Wyoming
RB Kasey Carrier Jr. New Mexico
RB Adam Muema So. San Diego State
TE Zach Sudfeld Grad. Nevada
OL Jordan Eason Sr. Air Force
OL Charles Leno Jr. Boise State
OL Chris Barker Sr. Nevada
OL Alec Johnson Sr. San Diego State
OL Brenel Myers Sr. Boise State
PK Jared Roberts So. Colorado State
PR/KR Khalid Wooten Sr. Nevada
Pos. Player Cl. School
DL Paipai Falemalu Sr. Hawai`i
DL Brock Hekking So. Nevada
DL Andy Jennings Jr. Fresno State
DL Lanston Tanyi Grad. Colorado State
LB Travis Brown Sr. Fresno State
LB Alex Means Sr. Air Force
LB Jake Fely So. San Diego State
DB Mike Edwards Jr. Hawai`i
DB Jerrell Gavins Sr. Boise State
DB Duke Williams Sr. Nevada
DB Nat Berhe Jr. San Diego State
P Alex Dunnachie Sr. Hawai`i
Derek Carr, Jr., QB, Fresno State
Phillip Thomas, Sr., DB, Fresno State
Mike Edwards, Jr., KR, Hawai`i
Davante Adams, WR, Fresno State
Rocky Long, San Diego State
Air Force: Cody Getz, Sr., RB; Brian Lindsay, Sr., DB; Jason Kons, Sr., OL; Austin Niklas, Sr., LB.
Boise State: D.J. Harper, Sr., RB; Jeremy Ioane, So., DB; Tommy Smith, Sr., LB; Ricky Tjong-A Tjoe, Jr., DL.
Colorado State: Shaquil Barrett, Jr., LB; Shaq Bell, Jr., DB; Weston Richburg, Jr., OL.
Fresno State: Sean Alston, So., DB; Isaiah Burse, Jr., WR; Richard Helepiko, Sr., OL; Marcel Jensen, Jr., TE;L.J. Jones, Jr., DB; Andrew Shapiro, Sr., P.
Hawai`i: Ben Clarke, Fr., OL; Tavita Woodard, Jr., DL.
Nevada: Joel Bitonio, Jr., OL; Allen Hardison, Grad., PK.
New Mexico: Justus Adams, Jr., PK; Dallas Bollema, Jr., LB; LaMar Bratton, So., OL; Chase Clayton, So., KR;Dillon Farrell, Jr., OL; Jacori Greer, Jr., DL; Darryl Johnson, Jr., OL; Matt Raymer, Sr., DB; Ben Skaer, Jr., P.
San Diego State: Derek Largent, So., LB; Sam Meredith, So., DL; Bryce Quigley, Jr., OL.
UNLV: Tim Cornett, Jr., RB; Robert Waterman, So., OL.
Wyoming: Robert Herron, Jr., WR; Tim Gleason, Fr., P; Ghaali Muhammad, Sr., LB; Brett Smith, So., QB.
About DavidSDSU (1267 Articles)
I graduated from San Diego State University with a degree in Journalism with an emphasis in Media Studies. I am also the Founder and CEO of San Diego Sports Domination. I am an award winning blogger and have been covering San Diego State Athletics and San Diego Sports for the past 10 years. I have written many guest articles and have appeared in many podcasts. I am also the team photographer for the San Diego Silverbacks, San Diego Surf (WPSL) and San Diego Strike Force. At my day job, I am a Live Coverage and Studio Coordinator at STN Digital a Digital Marketing Agency that works in the Sports & Entertainment Industry. We work with the biggest sports & entertainment companies in the world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: