HOUSTON – The college football season is heating up and this year’s American Heart Association (AHA) Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards Watch List includes a who’s who lineup of new faces and old favorites. Representing the nation’s best in college football, these coaches will compete for the highly-coveted and final title of the season: the 2017 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year. The winner will be announced live on Jan. 10, 2018 during the awards dinner and ceremony at the Hilton Americas in Houston.

The 20 coaches on this year’s Watch List are (in alphabetical order):


  • Paul Chryst – University of Wisconsin
  • Mark Dantonio– Michigan State University
  • Dave Doeren – North Carolina State University
  • James Franklin – Penn State University
  • Scott Frost – University of Central Florida
  • Mike Gundy –Oklahoma State University
  • Clay Helton – University of Southern California
  • Brian Kelly – University of Notre Dame
  • Mike Leach – Washington State University
  • Rocky Long– San Diego State University
  • Urban Meyer – Ohio State University
  • Mike Norvell – University of Memphis
  • Gary Patterson– Texas Christian University
  • Chris Petersen– University of Washington
  • Mark Richt – University of Miami
  • Lincoln Riley – University of Oklahoma
  • Nick Saban – University of Alabama
  • Kirby Smart – University of Georgia
  • Charlie Strong – University of South Florida
  • Dabo Swinney – Clemson University


The Watch List precedes the announcement of the finalists in December. These coaches are invited to the Bryant Awards in Houston to find out who will be the 2017 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year.

The action continues tomorrow on Oct. 19, 2017 with the announcement of the Lifetime Achievement Award recipient at a private, invitation-only event in Houston. This recognition honors a coach for outstanding career accomplishments. Previous award winners include Barry Alvarez (2017) Mack Brown (2016), Jimmy Johnson (2015), R.C. Slocum (2014) and LaVell Edwards (2013), who now take their place in history alongside the legendary Coach Bryant.

Now in its 32nd year, the award recognizes the country’s top college football coaches for their contributions both on and off the field. The Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor selected after all bowl games are concluded and is voted on by the National Sports Media Association. Last year’s winner, Clemson’s Dabo Swinney, is the first coach in the Bryant Awards history to be recognized as Coach of the Year in consecutive seasons (’15 and ’16) and just the second coach to win the award twice.

Behind the scenes, the award is much bigger than a season’s success. It is an opportunity to shine a spotlight on heart disease and stroke – the nation’s no. 1 and no. 5 health threats. Since the adoption of the name, the Bryant Awards have raised over $8.5 Million for the American Heart Association, funding research, education and advocacy efforts and saving countless lives.  “Bear” always talked about being bigger than something other than himself. The Bryant Awards offer an opportunity to do just that — to join the American Heart Association in the fight against heart disease and stroke and help save lives.

For the third time in its history, sports aficionados can enjoy the Bryant Awards live on FOX College Sports – available through most cable providers. Fans don’t have to wait until January to join in on the fun, though. For the first time, fans can add their two cents and vote for their favorite Coach of the Year. Fans donate with their dollars – giving lifesaving funds to support healthier communities across the nation. The fan vote will launch soon and the winner will be announced the day after the National Championship Game. Fans can follow the Watch List coaches, learn more about the Fan Vote and be the among the first to know made the finalist list at

Marathon Oil Corporation has served as the presenting sponsor of the Bryant Awards for the past nine years, underscoring the Company’s commitment to health and wellness. The Company strives to partner with local organizations to recognize and advance important public health initiatives in the communities where it operates.

To purchase tickets to the Bryant Awards, contact 832-918-4009 or visit

About American Heart Association

The American Heart Association is devoted to saving people from heart disease and stroke – the two leading causes of death in the world.  We team with millions of volunteers to fund innovative research, fight for stronger public health policies, and provide lifesaving tools and information to prevent and treat these diseases.  The Dallas-based association is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke.  To learn more or to get involved, call 1-800-AHA-USA1, visit or call any of our offices around the country.


About Marathon Oil Corporation

Marathon Oil Corporation (NYSE: MRO) is an independent exploration and production company based in Houston.  For more information, please visit the Company’s website at

Thank you for visiting our site!



Make sure you are following @SanDiego_Sports on Twitter and San Diego Sports Domination on Facebook for updates and information about San Diego Sports. If you are looking for tickets these are our most popular sports teams.

To purchase San Diego State tickets Get Great Tickets at Ticket Monster!

To purchase San Diego Padres tickets Get Great Tickets at Ticket Monster!

To purchase San Diego Gulls tickets Get Great Tickets at Ticket Monster!

About DavidSDSU (1275 Articles)
I graduated from San Diego State University with a degree in Journalism with an emphasis in Media Studies. I am also the Founder and CEO of San Diego Sports Domination. I am an award winning blogger and have been covering San Diego State Athletics and San Diego Sports for the past 10 years. I have written many guest articles and have appeared in many podcasts. I am also the team photographer for the San Diego Silverbacks, San Diego Surf (WPSL) and San Diego Strike Force. At my day job, I am a Live Coverage and Studio Coordinator at STN Digital a Digital Marketing Agency that works in the Sports & Entertainment Industry. We work with the biggest sports & entertainment companies in the world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: